Freeholder Kathy DeFillippo Named Third Vice-Chair of the NJTPA

Freeholder Director Kathy DeFillippo

MORRIS COUNTY — Morris County Freeholder Kathy DeFillippo was named Third Vice-Chair of the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) Board of Trustees at the organization’s meeting on Monday, January 22.

The NJTPA oversees regional transportation planning and annually authorizes more than $1 billion in federal surface transportation funding for 13 counties in northern and central New Jersey.

The Executive Committee provides guidance and leadership to the full Board on a wide range of planning, policy and administrative issues. It meets as needed to review financial, personnel and policy matters. Board membership is an uncompensated position.

In accordance with the NJTPA bylaws, Union County Freeholder Angel Estrada, who was elected Chair of the Board, appointed Freeholder DeFillippo to the position.

“Thank you to Freeholder Estrada for naming me Third Vice-Chair to this important agency, which plays a vital role in so many facets of life for the residents of Morris County and North Jersey,” said Freeholder DeFillippo. “The NJTPA provides a needed regional perspective to transportation issues, whether it’s conducting a study to create a greenway along the historic route of the Morris Canal or considering the critical role freight plays in our region’s economy.”

Freeholder DeFillippo is a former Roxbury Mayor, who was elected as a Morris County Freeholder in 2013, twice serving as Director.

She joined the NJTPA Board of Trustees in 2014.  She was elected as a member of the Board’s Executive Committee in 2016, serving two years as Board Secretary. She serves as Chair of the NJTPA’s Freight Initiatives Committee.

At the meeting, the NJTPA Board also selected four other members of its Executive Committee.

In addition to electing Freeholder Estrada Chair, the Board elected Hunterdon County Freeholder Matthew Holt, First Vice-Chair; Passaic County Freeholder John Bartlett, Second Vice-Chair; and Essex County Executive Joseph DiVincenzo, Secretary.

For more information on the NJTPA click here.

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2018 Parsippany Focus



Previous articleCCM Launches a New Degree in Animation
Next articleLand Conservancy of New Jersey Renews Its Scholarship Program
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989. Covering a wide range of events. Executive Board Member Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce. President of Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany. Former Chairman of Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board.