Breaking news: Peluso drops out of Freeholder race

William "Hank" Lyon dropped out last week; Six remaining candidate will compete in June's Primary

Robert Peluso

PARSIPPANY — Former Parsippany Council Vice President Robert Peluso has announced that he is withdrawing his candidacy for Morris County Freeholder this morning.

Robert Peluso

“Unfortunately, my family obligations have changed dramatically in the last week. Due to personal issues confronting my family I will not be able to commit the time necessary to run a county-wide campaign effectively. After considering the needs of my family at this time, and the time required for a campaign, I feel I cannot proceed with the campaign. My family and I would like to thank everyone who supported me. I look forward to future contests and hope that I can serve our community in a different capacity during this time.”

Peluso, a Parsippany resident for nearly fifty years, earned his Masters of Business Administration from Fairleigh Dickinson University’s campus in Madison and earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Montclair State University along with the completion of the Leadership Morris and Morris County Sheriff Citizen Police Academy.  He is employed as a Government Banking Officer and has risen to the level of Vice President. He is also currently on the Advisory Board for the Morris County School of Technology, Chairman for the Parsippany Economic Development Committee and President of the Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce. Peluso resides in Parsippany with his wife Ildiko, and son Robert.

For more information, contact or (973) 747-5617.

Freeholders Deborah Smith and John Cesaro’s seats are up on December 31, along with Christine Myers’ seat. Myers is not seeking re-election after accepting a job with the federal Small Business Administration.

Last week, Former Freeholder William “Hank” Lyon, 30,  backed out of running for another term in the primary election in June, according to his Facebook post.

The remaining Republican candidates competing in the June primary for three-year freeholder seats are Smith, Cesaro, Former Morris County Freeholder John Krickus, former Mountain Lakes Mayor Stephen Shaw, and Mendham resident Aura Kenny Dunn.

Seeking the Democratic nomination are Vanessa Brown of Mendham Township, Mary Dougherty of Morristown, Rupande Mehta of Denville and Richard Corcoran of Boonton.

On Friday, April 13 at 4:00 p.m. the Morris County Board of Elections will be “pulling” the positions for the freeholders on the June primary ballot.