Parsippany RACES team volunteers at New York Marathon

Nick Limanov, Mark Abudato, RACES officer Michael Hartmann and Alan Machbitz

PARSIPPANY — Several members of the Parsippany RACES team alongside other first responders at the 2017 TCS NYC Marathon stationed on the Ed Koch Queensboro Bridge, mile marker 15. The Parsippany team assisted with emergency communications for security and medical and monitoring the post for suspicious activity. The New York Marathon is largest marathon in the world and was a huge success and very safe.

The volunteers included Nick Limanov, Mark Abudato, RACES officer Michael Hartmann and Alan Machbitz. RACES is part of Parsippany’s Office of Emergency Management (OEM).

Runners coming across the Ed Koch Queensboro Bridge

The 2017 TCS New York City Marathon was broadcasted on ABC7, ESPN2 and was available globally in more than 616 million households across over 175 different countries and territories.

The broadcast, which has been produced by IMG since 1994, consisted of 33 cameras covering the 26.2-mile course, including a camera attached to the chair of professional wheelchair athletes and U.S. Paralympian Amanda McGrory and Brian Siemann. The production staff of 300 included 17 commentators, reporters, and analysts, with ESPN’s Sage Steele serving as the race-day host for the second consecutive year. Steele currently serves as ESPN’s lead host for SportsCenter on the Road and as the weekday anchor for SportsCenter:AM.

The first New York City Marathon, organized in 1970 by Fred Lebow and Vince Chiappetta, was held entirely in Central Park. Of 127 entrants, only 55 men finished; the sole female entrant dropped out due to illness. Winners were given inexpensive wristwatches and recycled baseball and bowling trophies. The entry fee was $1 and the total event budget was $1,000.

The 2016 TCS New York City Marathon on November 6, 2016, had a record number of finishers, 51,388, setting a new mark as the the largest marathon on the world. Ghirmay Ghebreslassie of Eritrea became the youngest male winner in race history; Mary Keitany of Kenya won the women’s race for the third consecutive time. Wheelchair champions were Marcel Hug of Switzerland and Tatyana McFadden of the United States (winning the marathon grand slam for the fourth time). The 2017 TCS New York City Marathon took place Sunday, November 5.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here