Council introduces resolution “Prohibition on Single-use Plastics”

Beach Cleaning. Cleaning dirty beaches by the action of man. Sustainability of the planet and preservation of nature.

PARSIPPANY — The Parsippany-Troy Hills Township Council introduced a resolution “Expressing Its Support for Senate Bill No. 2776 (2018) proposing a “Prohibition on Single-Use Plastics.”

Senators Bob Smith and Linda Greenstein have sponsored Senate Bill No. 2776, which proposes a prohibition on single-use of plastic carryout bags, expanded polystyrene food containers and single use plastic straws. The senate bill was introduced on June 25, 2018.

Click here to read Senate Bill.

The bill would prohibit stores and food service businesses from providing single use plastic carryout bags to their customers; Any person from selling or offering for sale in the State any expanded polystyrene (known as Styrofoam) single-use food service product containers; Any food service business from selling or providing any food in any single-use expanded polystyrene food service product container; and any food service business from selling or providing single-use plastic straws to customers.

The resolution stated “Single-use plastic waste creates significant litter problems in Parsippany neighborhoods, also litter parks, sewer systems and Passaic, Whippany and Rockaway Rivers. The disposal of single-use plastic waste created an impediment to achievement of Parsippany’s environmental goals.

The reduction in single-use plastic waste would help to protect the marine environment, advance solid waste reduction, reduce greenhouse gas emissions and keep waterways clean.

As part of the Senate bill “A person who violates any provision of the bill would be subject to a penalty of up to $5,000 for each offense, and each day during which the violation continues would constitute a separate offense.”

The resolution passed 5-0 and Parsippany-Troy Hills Township Clerk Khaled Madin will forward a copy of the resolution to the Governor of the State of New Jersey, Lieutenant Governor of the State of New Jersey, Senators Smith and Greenstein, the members of the Morris County Legislative Delegation, members of the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders and the Mayor and Council of all municipalities within Morris County.