Meet the Candidates: Parsippany Board of Education

Dr. Frank A. Calabria Education Center

PARSIPPANY — A “Meet the Candidates” forum sponsored by the Par-Troy Council of PTA’s will take place on Monday, October 17 at Parsippany Hills High School from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

All four candidates running for election on Tuesday, November 8 were invited to speak and take questions from the audience.

Incumbents Mr. Joseph Cistaro, Mrs. Alison Cogan and Mrs. Fran Orthwein are seeking another three year term on the Board of Education, while Mr. Nick Kumburis is also seeking to replace one of the incumbents.

Parsippany Hills High School is located at 20 Rita Drive.

The Board of Education is made up of nine members who are elected by registered voters of Parsippany-Troy Hills Township. Members are elected to three-year terms. The Board President and Vice-President are elected by the majority vote of their fellow Board members.

Board members voluntarily and generously contribute their time and expertise to the district. They do not receive any payment or benefits for their service. We are fortunate to have specialists from several professional fields represented on our Board.

In addition to their attendance at public board meetings and committee meetings; Board members are also required to attend NJSBA (New Jersey School Boards Association) training sessions.
Members of the current Board: have attended our schools; had children who graduated from Parsippany-Troy Hills Township Public Schools; and have children or grandchildren who currently attend our schools. The decisions affect not only your family, but our own as well. Board members have no legal authority, except when acting as a group at official Board meetings.

Your Board works hard to deliver the best education that it can within the financial constraints imposed by the State of New Jersey.