Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeLocal NewsPHS held Induction Ceremony for the 2020 Hall of Fame

PHS held Induction Ceremony for the 2020 Hall of Fame

PARSIPPANY — Parsippany High School (PHS) inducted their 2020 Hall of Fame Class on Friday, November 1 in the Media Center. The honorees were then invited to watch the PHS Redhawks win over Pequannock 27-13. The RedHawks claimed their first football championship since 1983 as they become NJSFC American Blue Division Champs.

PHS Principal Dr. Denis Mulroony was the Master of Ceremonies.

Dr. Denis Mulroony

This years honorees were:

Betty Wieder and Ryan Wieder

Frederick “Bud” Weider ‘62
Accepting the award was Betty Weider and his son Ryan Weider

Bud was an amazing educator who connected with his students in and out of the classroom, teaching Architectural Drawing and lessons about life. Bud taught focus and discipline and the development of technical skills, but he did so using a hilarious sense of humor and a big heart. He stayed in contact with many of his former students and was invited to numerous weddings and reunions. Bud taught for twenty-three years and never took a sick day; he was always prepared and ready to make a difference.
Bud coached baseball at PHS from 1981 to 1987 compiling a record of 101-35, and was also an Assistant Basketball Coach. He went onto be the Head Baseball Coach at West Morris Central High School where he won over 200 games and a Morris County Championship, in addition to four appearances in the State Finals. Bud passed away in 2019, leaving behind a wonderful legacy at PHS and beyond.

Stephen McCarthy

Steve McCarthy
Introduced by his Step-Daughter Cindy Klein, a 1989 Graduate of PHS

Steve McCarthy taught English at PHS for thirty-six years as a teacher. In the classroom, he was particularly skilled at working with students and motivating them to succeed and graduate. His patience, compassion and knowledge of reading and writing skills impacted thousands of Par High students. Steve also served as Boys and Girls Tennis Coach for 70 seasons (40 Boys, 30 girls), finishing his career with an incredible 639 wins. He even coached Ice Hockey for six seasons. After his retirement, Steve came back to PHS and continues to serve as a valuable, reliable and enthusiastic substitute teacher. Mr. McCarthy is a mainstay at PHS and is remembered for his student-centered approach, his long and successful coaching career and his dedication to the school.

Cindy Klein introducing Stephen McCarthy, Teacher and Coach
Frederick Paradise

Frederick Paradise ‘80
Introduced by Parsippany-Troy Hills Councilman Michael dePierro

Fred Paradise (‘79) was a standout football, basketball and baseball player for Parsippany High School from 1977-1980. Fred earned 11 varsity letters playing quarterback/defensive back, point guard and outfielder and accumulated numerous individual honors in addition to tremendous team success (7 Conference, County and State Titles!). He was also an outstanding student and very involved in extracurricular activities including Student Council, Varsity Club, Pep Club and PTSA. For his success on the field and in the classroom, Fred was named Morris County Male “Scholastic Athlete of the Year” in 1979. Some of his specific accomplishments include:

Football: 406 passing yards in a game (school record), 1,127 passing yards in a season (school record); 6-3 record senior season; Daily Record Offensive Player of the Year; 1st Team All Morris County Quarterback (Daily Record, Daily Advance, The Citizen); Daily Record “Redskin of the Year Award”

Basketball: 166 assists in a season (school record at the time); 19.2 senior season avg.; 1st Team All-Morris County (Star Ledger, Community News, NY Daily News, Daily Record, Herald News, The Citizen); helped lead teams to 42-6 record over junior/senior seasons and 2 Conference Championships, 1 County Championships and 2x State Sectional Championships; Two-time Tri-County One-on-One Champion.

Baseball: Batted over .300; helped to lead team to a 20-6 record during senior season and Conference & State Sectional Championships; Group III Finalist.

Parsippany-Troy Hills Councilman Michael dePierro introducing Frederick Paradise

PHS Hall of Fame by Induction Class

1999: George P. Johnson; Roy Baker; Ltc. Mark T. Little; Jack Mott; Annette Delaney Ricciuti; George W. Wesner
2000: Garrett E. Reisman; Lisa Codella-Pesci
2001: Robert Martin
2002: Michael Codella; Dolores Femister; Anthony R. Scatton, Jr.; Gary Vittorio
2003: David Guida; John Karolchyk; Christina Ladas; Doris McManus; Francine “Micky” Walsh
2004: Bruce Biddison: Randy Frankel: James Vigilante
2005: Jack Pruden; Suzanne Rubenstein; Violet Schicke
2006: Colonel Harold F. Gantert; David Shaffer
2007: 1986 Girls’ Softball Team
2008: Victor Labate M.D.
2009: Roy Helmlinger
2014: Ron Foreso; Dragan “Dan” Ilic; Robert Peluso; Michael Pignatelli; Jerry Russo
2015: 1965 Baseball Team; Cavan Londergan; Jane Puccio; Jay Redan M.D.
2016: 1999 Boys Basketball Team; Clarence Curry III; Ann Greiner; Nancy Russo Petryna; Dr. Jon Molinare
2017: 1977 Football Team; Joe Bernabe; LeRoy Williams Collins Jr.; Fei-Fei Li; Robert Sabella
2018: Andrew Ladas, Michael Yesunas
2019: 1974 Football Team, Jason Hallik, Erika Plosa, Malvin Sumka, Chris Walas
2020: Stephen McCarthy, Frederick Paradise, Frederick “Bud” Wieder

Frank L. Cahill
Frank L. Cahill
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989 and Morris Focus since 2019, both covering a wide range of events. Mr. Cahill serves as the Executive Board Member of the Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce, President of Kiwanis Club of Tri-Town and Chairman of Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board.
Recent Articles
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Local News

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Click on image to read magazine

Parsippany Focus Magazinespot_img
Translate »