Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeBeyond ParsippanyDeborah Smith Chosen as Morris County Freeholder Director

Deborah Smith Chosen as Morris County Freeholder Director

Doug Cabana, Kathy DeFillippo, Tom Mastrangelo, Jim Gannon and Heather Darling Take Oaths as Freeholder, Sheriff and Surrogate

MORRIS COUNTY — Morris County Freeholders Doug Cabana of Boonton Township, Kathy DeFillippo of Roxbury, and Tom Mastrangelo of Montville, and Sheriff James M. Gannon and new County Surrogate Heather Darling were sworn into office on Friday, January 3 at the Board of Freeholders’ 2020 Annual Meeting, held in Morristown.

Freeholder Thomas J. Mastrangelo being sworn in by his daughter Brittany for his fourth term. His wife, Debbie holds the bible while his sons Michael and Christopher looks on.
Roxbury Township Mayor Robert DeFillippo had the honor of administering the Oath of Office for his wife, Kathy DeFillippo
Senator Anthony Bucco administering the oath of office to Freeholder Doug Cabana, while his sister Amy Bucco holds the bible. Doug is serving his 8th term as Freeholder

Also at the ceremonial event, Freeholders Deborah Smith of Denville and Stephen Shaw of Mountain Lakes were elected as director and deputy director, each for the first time.

Smith succeeds Freeholder Doug Cabana as director.

Freeholders Deborah Smith of Denville and Stephen Shaw of Mountain Lakes were elected as director and deputy director, each for the first time.

“My goals this year are to make decisions that benefit all residents of Morris County, to keep close watch on spending while delivering critical public safety and quality of life services that make Morris County the number one county in New Jersey, by far,’’ said Freeholder Smith.

“I look forward to working with and supporting my freeholder colleagues and the county administration in my role as Deputy Director. It is an honor and privilege to serve the residents of Morris County,” said Freeholder Shaw.

Showing support for those who took the oaths tonight were a host of political dignitaries, including Rep. Mikie Sherrill, state Sens. Joe Pennacchio, Anthony Bucco, and Tom Kean Jr.; Assembly Members BettyLou DeCroce, Aura Dunn, and Christopher DePhillips.

Also attending were County Clerk Ann Grossi, County Prosecutor Fredric M. Knapp and First Assistant Prosecutor Thomas Zelante, and recently retired County Surrogate John Pecoraro, and former freeholders Frank Druetzler, Gene Feyl, John Inglesino, and John Sette.

Freeholder Smith highlighted some of Morris County’s top rankings and high quality of life during her address to overflow audience in the County Administration and Records Building. She touted the following about Morris County:

  • It has the number one county park system in New Jersey;
  • It is a statewide leader in open space and farmland preservation;
  • It is the number one healthiest county in New Jersey;
  • It is a statewide leader in recycling;
  • It has the top-ranked Triple A bond rating;
  • It is ranked in the top 25 counties to live in the U.S.;
  • County College of Morris and the Morris County Vocational School are ranked among the best in the nation.

“The Freeholder Board is intent in 2020 to maintain those top rankings,’’ Smith told the crowd. “We know we have a lot of work ahead of us and look forward to your participation and collaboration.’’

Smith joined the Freeholder Board on January 3, 2016, and is now serving her second three-year term. She has served on the Budget Committee, chaired the Insurance Commission, and has been liaison to the Morris County Park Commission and Finance Department.

Previously, she was on the Denville Council for 20 years, including two years as council president and two years as the council’s Planning Board member. She also served on the Denville Zoning Board.

Freeholder Smith has long served her community, volunteering for many community activities. She was the Township Council liaison to the Denville Public Library, senior citizens’ organizations, the local historical society, fire department and many other groups.

She resides in Denville with her husband Steven, a small business owner in Randolph.

Frank L. Cahill
Frank L. Cahill
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989 and Morris Focus since 2019, both covering a wide range of events. Mr. Cahill serves as the Executive Board Member of the Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce, President of Kiwanis Club of Tri-Town and Chairman of Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board.
Recent Articles
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Local News

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Click on image to read magazine

Parsippany Focus Magazinespot_img
Translate »