Parsippany holds Inauguration Ceremony

Mayor Michael Soriano, Councilwoman Janice McCarthy and Councilwoman Emily Peterson took the oath of office

Mayor Michael Soriano

PARSIPPANY — At a standing room only crowd Governor Elect Honorable Phillip D. Murphy gave the oath of office to incoming Mayor Michael A. Soriano on Monday, January 1.

“I appreciate the words that Governor Codey said about leaving politics at the door.” said Murphy, referring to former Governor Richard Codey, who also attended. “We get there stronger and longer if we do it together. And that’s what I think we can do, and not for this great community Parsippany, this county and this great state.”

Democratic congressional candidate Mikie Sherrill gave the oath of office to incoming Councilwoman Emily Peterson and Mayor Mimi Letts administered the oath office to incoming Councilwoman Janice McCarthy.

The innovation was given by Pastor Jeff Edwards and the benediction by Monsignor Herbert K. Tillyer.

After the Inauguration Ceremony, the Township Council held its annual reorganization meeting.

Complete story will be published shortly on Parsippany Focus.