Recount Certified Peluso and Valori as Primary Republican Winners


peluso1-600x228According to the Daily Record, Laura Roberts, supervisor of elections for the county clerk, was expected to deliver the results via letter for certification some time on Monday, June 24 by Judge Thomas L. Weisenbeck in Morristown, certifying the count to confirm the victories for Robert Peluso and Louis Valori in a five-man race in the June 4 primary.

John Sette, one of four commissioners on the board and chairman of the Morris County Republican Committee, conducted the recount, reading off the ballots one by one while several others recorded them in the simplest of graphic style — four vertical lines crossed by a horizontal line for every five votes read.

It was reported the count took place at the county voting machine storage warehouse on Highview Avenue in Cedar Knolls where all 793 sophisticated voting machines are being stored.

Questions about the number of absentee ballots cast for Robert Peluso and Louis Valori during the primary, however, may continue. Candidates Vincent Ferarra and Michael Strumolo, who finished third and fourth in the primary, petitioned the court for a recount after the absentee and provisional ballots were added on election night, Peluso (2,095) and Valori (1,805) moved into the lead, followed by Ferrara (1,738), Strumolo (1,728) and Shah (1,639).

The recount numbers were the same for Peluso, Valori and Strumolo, who received only 73 absentee ballots. Ferrara’s absentee total rose by one vote to 128, while Shah gained three for a total of 138. Ferrara also picked up two provisional votes while Shah gained one.

All of the local and daily newspapers, except Parsippany Focus reported Ferrara and Strumolo won the primary election on June 4. Parsippany Focus added the absentee and provisional ballots to the reported numbers, declaring Peluso and Valori the winners on election night. After the papers received the revised numbers announced on Thursday, June 6 by Parsippany Clerk Yancy Wazirmas their stories were then updated to reflect Peluso and Valori as the winners.

Milin Shah ran with the incumbent councilman Ferrara, on the same ticket as Mayor James Barberio, who won his GOP primary race against Councilman Paul Carifi Jr. by less than 90 votes. Peluso and Valori ran on the same ticket as Carifi. Carifi’s seat on the council expires December 31, 2015, while Jonathan Nelson and Vincent Ferrara’s term expires December 31, 2013.

The recount was attended Michael Strumolo, Vincent Ferrara, Councilman Jonathan Nelson, who ran unopposed in the Democratic primary for mayor, Parsippany Clerk Yancy Wazirmas and attorney Justin Marchetta, representing township attorney John Inglesino.

Peluso and Valori will compete in November for the Township Council against Independent Robert Crawford and Democrats Robert Keller and Mihir Oza; Mayor James Barberio will run against Democrat Jonathan Nelson.