Kiwanis Family Day 2013



Lake Parsippany K-Kids Stephanie Martinez, 11; Natalie Castellana, 11 and Kimbery Scott 10 proudly presenting their display at Kiwanis Family Day held recently at the Parsippany-Troy Hills Library.  During the presentation to Kiwanis members, family members and K-Club members, Builders Club and Key Club, Director of Sponsored Youth Programs for the Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany, Ron Orthwein was proud to announce the awards given to Division 19 during the New Jersey  District Key Club Convention held at Ocean Place Resort in Long Island.  Ron said “It was one of the most exciting, exhilarating and exhausting experiences of my life: The exhausting part came from being the Sergeant-At-Arms committee and having to do floor checks at 1:00 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights.  There were a total of 656 Key Club members and advisors attending the convention and they occupied all twelve floors of the hotel.

This year the two Key Clubs that the Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany sponsors, Parsippany High School and Parsippany Hills High School walked away with a total of 23 awards, including:

Early Bird Dues (2). Parsippany High School and Parsippany Hills High School.

Big Ten Award (1). 10% increase in membership. Parsippany Hills High School.

Video Award (1) – Parsippany High School. First Place Award to be submitted by the New Jersey District to the International competition at the Key Club International Convention to be held in July in Washington, D.C.

Golden Member Award (2) – General member with outstanding service and club participation. Sam Wu – Parsippany High School and Neenda Andican, Parsippany Hills High School.

Robert F. Lucas Distinguished Lieutenant Governor (1). Penny Xu, Parsippany Hills Lieutenant Governor District 19 New Jersey District Board.

Distinguished Presidents (2). Chirstina Hum, Parsippany High School; Selina Luong, Parsippany Hills High School.

Distinguised Vice Presidents (3). Judy Zhang, Parsippany Hills High School; Christine Yuan, Parsippany High School; and Alice Zhou, Parsippany High School.

Distinguished Secretaries (4). Julia Hong, Parsippany High School; Toobah Wali, Parsippany High School; Lina Estrada, Parsippany Hills High School and Lindsey Magbitang, Parisppany Hills High School.

Distinguished Treasurers (2). Shakti Gurikar, Parsippany High School and Eva Cavanaugh, Parsippany Hills High School.

Distinguished Editors (3). Aleena Kazmi, Parsippany High School; Elaine Lee, Parsippany Hills High School and Jasmine Thomas, Parsippany Hills High School.

Distinguished Webmaster (1). Amar Kakride, Parsippany High School.

New Jersey District Key Club Scholarship ($1,000.00) – Christina Hum, Parsippany High School.  This was one of 18 Scholarships that were given totaling $20,500.00.

In addition to the awards Division 19, which is the division that both Key Clubs are members, won back the coveted Spirit Stick which they had lost to Division 15 in the Fall Rally. The Spirit Stick was awarded at the end of the Sunday session to the division that demonstrates the most Key Club spirit when they are called upon by the Governor.  It was an extreme decibel experience.

The 2012-2013 Key Club Board set a fund raising goal for the “Eliminate Project” to reaise $100,602.23 during their service year.

-100 – For the 100 million mothers that still need vaccinations

-60 – For the 60,000 mothers and infants that die each year from MNT.

-2 – For the two powerful organizations, the Kiwanis Family and UNICEF working together.

-23 – For the 23 amazing divisions in the New Jersey District joining together to eliminate MNT.

Unfortunately, due to the devastating effects of Super Sandy they were not able to achieve their goal this year. They were however able to raise approximately $65,000 during this service year. Using the UNICEF/KIWANIS formula 3 (inoculations) x $.60 (cost of medication) = $1.80 = 1 life, the New Jersey District of Key Club saved 35,975 lives during their 2012-2013 service year. The 2013-2014 New Jersey Board has already decided to continue to support the ELIMINATE project for the 2013-2014 service year.

The district also elected their 2012-2014 Executive Board at the convention.  The new executive board members are:

Governor – Ryan Clarkin – Vernon TownshipSecretary – Kelly Tran, Egg Harbor Township
Treasurer – Penny Xu, Parsippany Hills High School
Edior – Pak Chau, Egg Harbor Township