36 High School Students Graduate from Youth Public Safety Academy


Youth-Academy-Graduation-13Morris County’s Youth Public Safety Academy this summer graduated 36 high school students from across the county who spent the week of August 5 in a training program that exposed them to careers in public safety and public service.

The academy’s challenging, hands-on curriculum included fire department, SWAT/SERT Team and K-9/Bomb Unit demonstrations; an overview of Emergency Medical Services training; crime scene investigations; and physical training in a format similar to what actual police, fire and EMS academy cadets experience.

The Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders sponsored the free academy along with the county’s Department of Law and Public Safety to build interest in public service and public safety professions.

The students who graduated from the Youth Public Safety Academy were Sujay Busarajan and Parth Vachhani of Parsippany; Melissa Begon of Lake Hiawatha; Jack Alenucewicz of Mendham; Amethyst Aragon, Alejandra Arias, Marilyn Mayorga and Evan Little of Dover; Ebony Ashford of Rockaway Township; Sharone Brown of Andover; Vanessa Cabrera, Jake Tappen and Luke Mayer of Morristown; and Nicole Clarke and Brian McCormick of Wharton.

Also graduating were Marco Collemi of Montville; Danielle Crosson of Hopatcong; Anthony D’Amico of Rockaway Borough; Rebecca Dimichino of Roxbury; Shawn Doriety, Meghan Reilly, Jessica Rodiles, Daniel Palazzo and Zachary Palmer of Boonton; John Galluzzi and Matthew Reese of Boonton Township.

The graduates also included Kristine Gurcan of Hanover Township; David Jones of East Hanover; David Pera of Mount Olive; Mark Richards of Mountain Lakes; Daniel Rios of Randolph; Dylan Roos and Madison Roos of Chatham; Shane Stone of Denville; Daniel Swerzenski of Jefferson Township; and Parth Yadav of Morris Plains.



Previous articleMorris to Mark 12th Anniversary of 9/11
Next articleCommunity Day Court Tour in Morris County
Publisher of Parsippany Focus since 1989. Covering a wide range of events. Executive Board Member Parsippany Area Chamber of Commerce. President of Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany. Vice Chairman of Parsippany-Troy Hills Economic Development Advisory Board.